Merritt named 40 Under Forty honoree

PROVIDENCE (June 24, 2013) – The Providence Business News has named Elizabeth Merritt as one of its 40 Under Forty winners for 2013.

Merritt and her fellow 2013 40 Under Forty class members will be honored July 25 at the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, R.I.

The 40 Under Forty honorees were chosen based on career success and community involvement. All are legal and business professionals under the age of 40 who have made a commitment to making a difference on a local, national or international scale.

Merritt focuses her practice on professional liability matters, including defending healthcare professionals and appraisers in malpractice litigation. She also handles family law, business litigation, personal injury, premises liability, and employment matters.

Merritt devotes considerable time to community projects. For example, she is Chair of the Board of Directors for The Manton Avenue Project, a theater group joining at-risk urban youth with adult artists and actors. She provides pro bono legal services as part of the Roger Williams University Pro Bono Collaborative.

In the legal community, Merritt serves on the Rhode Island Bar Journal’s Board of Editors. She is also co-author of the Lunch With Legends article series published bi-monthly in the Rhode Island Bar Journal that highlights the careers of senior members of the bar who are trailblazers and trendsetters.

Merritt was chosen by Super Lawyers as a 2012 Rhode Island Rising Star.

Merritt’s selection marks the second time in three years that an attorney from the firm has been named as a 40 Under Forty winner. Matt Plain is a member of the 2011 Class.

About Barton Gilman

Barton Gilman is one of New England’s leading civil litigation law firms with offices in Boston and Providence. Its experienced trial attorneys appear regularly in the federal and state courts of Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connecticut. The Providence Business News named the firm as one of Rhode Island’s Best Places to Work for five consecutive years (2008–2012).